Dropping Panties

Elasticity in underwear is pretty much a given these days. We wear underwear, it wears out, we get new underwear. However, I overlooked the importance of undergarment elasticity on one of my morning jaunts to the gym.

One of the things that helps me get into workout mode in the a.m. is that I wear my workout clothes to bed: sports bra, comfy workout pants, loose shirt – except for my Nikes, I’m covered. Thank goodness lots of gym clothes are comfortable enough to double as sleepwear.

So, bright eyed and bushy tailed, i hopped out of bed and made by way to my morning date with the treadmill. Usually, earlier gym sessions yield strengthened resistance and longer running times. I popped in my earbuds and started jamming at 9:50 mph.

Around the quarter mile mark, I felt my underwear dropping slowly. No biggie. I did a “is anyone looking” scan, and then corrected my underwear position as discreetly as possible. This process repeated itself a handful of times during the next few minutes.

I got so tired of doing this that I( eventually just figured that, so long my pants stayed on, my underwear settle wherever it wanted. There was no settling. Apparently, my panties wanted to escape.

Well, my undies may have won the battle, but I won the war. As I stripped down in the bathroom, I found that this pair of panties had been making it through the laundry cycle for 7-ish years. Despite their long life, there was no ceremony in my disposal of this wayward piece of clothing.

Loose lips sink ships, but loose pants hide a whole lot. This workout was finished commando style. Not my usual m.o., but you gotta do what you gottta do. No excuses.

Since then, my gym includes a set of extra, more sturdy briefs.

2 thoughts on “Dropping Panties

Leave a Reply

