Day 96: Being a Heroine

“Who’s on heroine?”

270216046364295180

That was my friend’s confused response as she entered my conversation on my preference for a strong female lead in my media selection. I had said that the women I enjoyed reading, listening to and watching are all heroines.

But the more I look at my own life, sometimes I don’t act the heroine. In fact, many times in my life, I have played the victim, the best friend, and even the female in the supporting role. Seeing as I can choose my own leading lady, it just doesn’t seem right that it being anyone other than myself.

And this female lead can be stronger, better, faster, smarter, and skinnier.

Leave a Reply

