Day 94: What Not to Wear

As much as I want to, I don’t buy clothes. It’s been part of my life for years. Do I have the desire to shop? Yes. Try new trends? Of course! But when I try doing these things, do they pan out the way I want them to? No!

So as much as I would love to have new clothes, I don’t go near clothing stores. And I won’t- until I lose weight. Telling myself that a particular item “Just looked better on the hanger”, isn’t excuse enough for me.

Here are a few things I’ve learned about dressing while being overweight.

Avoid horizontal stripes. You know how discouraging the tape measure can be? Wearing stripes is like wearing a bunch of tape measures around your middle.

Go for long tops that draw attention to your skinny parts- the more your middle is covered, the better. I like tops that draw the eye away from my middle.

Pick ascending necklines. When I get bigger, my boobs follow suit. And like it or not, boobs are fat. When they are big and visible, it’s a little too much for the average eye. I have to admit, this is where I do wrong most of the time.

Accessorize- This is another one where I do wrong. I’m in too much of a hurry most of the time to remember to change purses or earrings or shoes. Good accessories draw attention to and make you feel more put-together.

i don’t think I would have any trouble putting outfits together did I have a better foundation (i.e. body). But in the meantime, I can do what I can with what I have.

One thought on “Day 94: What Not to Wear

  1. Almost nobody has a body that fits perfectly into clothes, so even when you lose the weight don’t expect it to be a cinch. My thighs, for instance, are rediculously larger than the average woman’s so jeans hardly ever fit. And my shoulders are very broad so forget any fabric that doesn’t stretch on top. Suits, jean jackets, etc, can’t wear ’em. You have very slender arms and legs and a nice rack – many women would kill for these qualities! Oh, and tiny feet – my feet never fit in the cute shoes.

Leave a Reply

