Day 93: But it Hurts

After a week of having a cold, I’m ready to go back to the gym tomorrow. And even after just 7 days without a gym sesh, I’ve fallen a little bit out of shape. Now don’t get on me for not going; when you can’t breath and your head feels like a giant weight, it’s okay to let yourself get better.

No pain, no pain, right? No- when you feel like your bones will break or your sinuses will explode, it’s okay to not make it to the gym. But when you’re healthy, you need to go through the pain of building muscle and pushing your cardiovascular limits on the treadmill. I was up to 2.5 miles a week ago- I’m not going to let myself get worse.

A certain amount of pain and discomfort is necessary to get where you need to be. I’ve lost 2 pounds this week, and I’m not going to stop that downward trend. This blog from Zenhabits on discomfort is a great piece about how we run from discomfort of any kind. But most discomfort, in the end, makes us stronger.

Take this cold, for example. I’ve felt horrible for a week, but now that my body has built immunity to the infection, I will never get this cold again.

You have to break muscle for it to grow back bigger. You have to burn fat away. You have to resist friction to break free. Break, burn, resist..grow.

One thought on “Day 93: But it Hurts

  1. Pingback: Darkest.. « Randomlyabstract's Blog

Leave a Reply

