Day 61: Healthier Cranberry Muffins

 

exps3135_C1414C47DI’m kicking myself for not taking pictures! The cranberry Muffins I made this morning were d

elicious! Using this original recipe from Taste of Home, I substituted a few ingredients with  healthier alternatives. (Thank you Taste of Home for this wonderful recipe and the picture.)

Basically, I followed the recipe from the website, but used the following ingredients:

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour– Whole wheat flour
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1-1/2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon ground nutmeg
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground ginger
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt (sea salt)
  • 2 teaspoons grated orange peel
  • 1/2 cup shortening- apple sauce (I used more than 1/2 cup. Since the consistency of apple sauce is different than shortening, the dough was more wet, and it probably made the muffins sweeter.)
  • 3/4 1/2 cup orange juice. (I squeezed the orange juice fresh. To offset the apple sauce, I added less juice.)
  • 2 eggs, lightly beaten
  • 1 tablespoon vanilla extract
  • 1-1/2 cups coarsely chopped cranberries ( I used my Ninja blender for this. I took about 2 seconds.)
  • 1-1/2 cups chopped Diamond of California® Pecans

The result was a bath of moist, muffins that tasted tangy, sweet and well-spiced. I recommend!

Oh, and if you want something that’s not healthy at all (but you want to make holiday treats for your family), try this cookie recipe from the baker’s daughter. Seriously. BEST COKKIE RECIPE I’VE EVER MADE. And that includes some from Martha Stewart. (Don’t worry Martha, I have your line of dishes and kitchen utensils.) I tried the macadamia nut and butterscotch on Tuesday, and they were good. Tonight I made the recipe with chocolate chips, malnuts and macadamia nuts. The cookies were amazing.

So when Hubbs says, “What do you mean you’re not making cookies tonight?”, I have a go-to recipe.

Leave a Reply

