Day 60: Role Model: CJ Cregg

Yeah, yeah I know- she’s a fictional character. Who says you can’t look up to someone on a tv show? One of the main reasons I watched The West Wing was because of the White House Press Secretary CJ Cregg.

I’m always thinking about my career: where it is, where I want it to go, and anything I can do to enhance my portfolio. I know that I don’t want to be a press secretary or work in a stuffy environment, but I do want to be up to the challenges set before me.

Played by Allison Janney (also one of my favorites), CJ is one of my career role models. Here’s why:

She’s fit. She’s also very tall, which I won’t be- ever. One scene early in the series shows her at an early morning workout.

She’s quick. Usually a beat ahead of her counterparts and the press, you know that she’s on the ball- with a witty comment to boot.

She’s quirky. So many people think that in order to be successful, you need to be boring. Not so. The YouTube video below shows some of her best moments.

She can hold her own. Enough said.

She makes mistakes, but she rights the situation. This is one of the things that I love about CJ. She makes mistakes, beats herself up over them, and then moves on.

So there you go. How else are you supposed to get better if you don’t set the bar high?

2 thoughts on “Day 60: Role Model: CJ Cregg

Leave a Reply

