Day 59: Magic Moroccan Couch

Keep-calm-and-sleep-babyI’m beginning to think that my big comfy couch was given some magical properties by its previous owners.

You never know what to expect when you get something off Craigslist. But the Moroccan family seemed nice, the couch seemed nice and they offered us cookies and tea. All in all, it was a pleasant experience.

But the longer we have this couch, the more comfortable it becomes. After a long day, I sit down to blog and the desire to sleep creeps over me. Before long I’m snoozing so soundly that Hubbs leaves me there instead of telling me to go to bed. Only when I wake up at 2am do I realize that the only light in the room is coming from my mini Christmas tree, and that I didn’t blog that day.

Darn.

The good thing  about sleep is that it is a healthy thing to do. Is this a good excuse for not blogging yesterday? Probably not. But I probably needed it. Sleep has many benefits, most of them involving enhanced cognitive function. Some experts say that it helps you lose weight and experience less stress.

The expression “Sleep on it” had to come from somewhere. I usually find that I make more logical decisions and have better diet discipline earlier in the day than later. Our bodies use sleep to reboot and recharge.

Being sleep deprived is one of the worst things you can do to your body. (Check out a few consequences of not getting enough sleep from Harvard.) In fact, sleep deprivation is a form of torture.

In closing, I hope I only ever lose sleep when I have a baby (because that’s just inevitable, but worth it, I’ve been told). I would like to thank the Moroccan family that put the magic sleeping spell on my couch.

Now I need to find a new place to blog.

Leave a Reply

