Day 50: Gym Supplies

My typical gym bagI can always count on the following items items to be in my gym bag:

  • Running shoes
  • Earphones
  • Water bottle
  • Sports bra
  • Comfortable pants
  • Loose top
  • Hair tie

One of my worst excuses when I was beginning my exercise routine was flaking out on my workout  if any of these items were missing. If I didn’t have headphones or water or even a hair tie well, how on earth was I supposed to work up a sweat? All of these items, easily purchased at the gym or a nearby store, were my excuses to not work out.

Then one day the inevitable happened: my one and only hair tie broke. it was mid-run, and I had a mile and a half to go. Before I pressed the emergency stop button on the treadmill, I thought about what would happen if I called it quits. I would feel bad for not completing the run. I wouldn’t burn as many calories. I also wouldn’t feel the endorphine rush that I was beginning to crave. I smoothed my hair into a manageable twist and kept running.

Since then I’ve decided to cancel a workout if I am missing running shoes, exercise pants and a water bottle. Any shirt will work and, even though uncomfortable, a regular bra will suffice. The gym plays music: I can listen to that. Learning to live through gym sessions like this was a big turning point in my exercise regimen. I overcame myself and am getting stronger!

What’s can’t you live without at the gym? Comment below and let me know!

One thought on “Day 50: Gym Supplies

Leave a Reply

