Day 26: Eat for Health- Part One

I’m not one to believe everything I read, bit I drink this guy’s koolaide.

I read Dr. Joel Furhman’s “Eat for Health” book 1. Yup, it’s pronounced “furrman”, but if his picture is correct, he is not furry at all. According to Dr. Fuhrman, to “eat for health”, you need to eat a plant-based diet. In a 4 phased plan, you are slowly weaned off of enriched foods and meats to primarily eat fruits, vegetables, nuts and legumes.

Emphasized and re-emphasized throughout is the theme of a nutrient rich diet overcoming disease, slowing aging and making you feel better into every day. He goes into a lot of details about this, and I don’t want to give away too much, but it really made me think about my eating habits and how they could be more healthy.

The best part of the book was chapter 6, which covers changing the way you think about food. Since I have a hard time with emotional eating, I got the most out of this. He covers how someone’s social life, self-esteem, and psychology factor into overeating and unhealthy habits.

Not being familiar with nutrition, this book was a good way for me to get started learning about it. Dr Fuhrman gives no nonsense information about how your body uses food. He also provides testimonials about how people have lost weight and defeated chronic conditions by eating according to his system.

Why do I believe him? Because I’m already in phase 1 of his plan, by coincidence. I have found that I feel less bogged down, have more energy, have fewer headaches, and have a better attitude just by eating more fruits and vegetables. I am also more inclined to eat  these foods because my body knows them.

Even if you don’t plan to subscribe to the plan, I recommend “Eat for Health”. It’s a good one.

 

Leave a Reply

