Day 17: Soul Searching

I have a tendency to think WAY too much about stuff.

This might mean that I’m really intelligent, but I have the notion that it just takes twice the amount of brain power for my thought process to tell the difference between apples and oranges. Whatever. At least my brain isn’t going to waste.

Before I started Skinny 365, I thought a lot about myself, my body, my current status in life, and my goals. I quickly sorted out what was good: my husband, my marriage, my house, my family and some of my friends. I didn’t like my body, my lazy habits, parts of my job and some of my friends. With this data and some motivation from Gretchen Rubin and Rachel Bertsche, I came to a decision: in 1 year, I would be happier with my life.

So I took the steps necessary to do this. I stopped spending time with negative influences, and took steps to grow in my career.My lazy habits and bad body persisted to irk me. My belly was literally the standing standing between me and complete self-love.

I think that, in order to be happy with yourself, you need to step back and evaluate your life every so often. Find out what’s getting in your way. If it’s your paycheck, work on your skill set. If it’s your friends, well, the “Unfriend” button does exist. If it’s a layer of fat, burn it.

So, 10 pounds down and fully juiced, I’m ready for another evaluation. I recently ran across an article that’s perfect for this.

10 Critical Questions You Must Ask Yourself

Read the article for more explanation, but the questions are:

  1. What do I appreciate about my life?
  2. Am I spending time with the right people?
  3. What are my gut instincts telling me?
  4. What can I do right now to move forward with my goals?
  5. Am I selling myself short?
  6. How am I affecting the people in my life?
  7. Am I holding onto something I need to let go of?
  8. Who deserves to be forgiven?
  9. What are my fears stopping my from doing?
  10. In ten years, will I like where I am? (I changed this one)

I like how far I’ve come, and I think I’m headed it the right direction!

Leave a Reply

