Day 14: Pink for President

I

t’s an understatement to say that today, the day of the presidential election, is politically and emotionally charged for many people. The President of the United States is important, but I’d like to think that they are more concerned with the economy, national security, and other big issues than with weight loss. I hope I don’t offend anyone with this, but if the election were based on attitude and fitness, I would vote for Pink.

I

was 14 when P!nk became popular, and I’ve liked her ever since. My admiration of her stems from the bare bones fact that we are nothing alike. Pink, or her persona is honest and tough. Her talent for expression without regard for outside opinion is amazing to me. I’ve learned a few things from Pink (or her persona) that have really helped me.

Pink Attitude

When I think of P!nk’s attitude, I think about her “So What” video, where, post-breakup, she is driving drunk down a LA street on a lawn mower.

Pink doesn’t seem to care what people think of her. She does what she wants, and she’s successful because of it. She rose to fame amid a sea of Britney Spears and Jessica Simpsons, and she refused to be like them. She is unique and she’s not embarrassed. She doesn’t wine about much. She doesn’t have any confessions. It’s all out there in the open. Take it or leave it. I spend so much time trying to make it easy for people to take me. I think if I just let go, they might just take me anyway. That’s their problem if they leave me.

P!nk Self-Esteem

I can’t watch the “F-in Perfect” without tearing up. I, along with a lot of other women, focus on our imperfections. As P!nk says:

“Change the voices in your head / Make them like you instead”

I want to be able to look in the mirror, and at each aspect of my life, and be happy with it. Everyone and everything is a work in progress. I need to embrace that progress and be happy in the present. Pink knows she’s worth it, and I love that about her.

P!nk Body

Eating at Pinkberry doesn’t give you P!nk’s body. Holy cow, she’s ripped! Most celebrities show off their post-baby bodies by posing in a bikini. Pink does interpretive dance in her new video for  “Try”. (Want a good song to push you farther on your workouts? Check it out).

Pink does eat healthy, but in her interview with Shape magazine, she does talk about her eating habits during pregnancy. “Yeah, I ate a lot of cheesecake during those nine months”. But when it came time to lose the baby weight and get fit, she was back on the wagon hard core. I want to live in a world where cheesecake has a place right next to cardio. Role model for fitness? I think so.

P!nk Fearlessness

There’s a lot I’m afraid of, and I just need to get over it. I’ll leave you with this: I  will work toward being as confident and daring as P!nk is in this amazing performance. That;s what this year is all about.

Leave a Reply

