Day 11: The Walk to End Alzheimer’s

What a big, long, exhausting and awesome day!

It started with a bright eyed and bushy tailed awake at 5:15am. Then out the door at 6 and to the Walk to End Alzheimer’s in Phoenix at 7. I work in the marketing department for SYNERGY HomeCare, and this event is one of the best parts of my job. With the help of my coworker Sandie, we set up the booth, welcomed our company team members, and walked in the 5K to support the cause to end Alzheimer’s disease.

One of the downsides of working in an office is lack of direct contact with people who need help. I wholeheartedly believe in the importance of non medical home care for people in need, but I’m on the sidelines when it comes to making a difference to these people. This walk was the event I needed to boost my sense of fulfillment in this area.

When it comes to workouts, walking a 5K doesn’t rank among the toughest, at least not for me. On the other hand, my hardest workouts don’t leave me feeling like I’ve done something to make the world a better place. The Walk to End Alzheimer’s didn’t take a lot of physical exertion, but it filled an emotional void.

One thought on “Day 11: The Walk to End Alzheimer’s

Leave a Reply

