Day 10: I Hate Lettuce

Lettuce: the party pooper of all salads.

There is not one time that I’ve seen leafy greens and thought “gee, those look tasty”. Have you ever gone out to eat and noticed that it’s only AFTER all of the goodies that the menu adds “on a bed of mixed greens” to every salad description? Lettuce and its comrades are always better when accompanied by fruits, vegetables, nuts or meat.

But leafy greens are so stinking good for you! They may not be my first choice, but they are chock-full of essential nutrients and minerals. They are recommended by doctors, nutritionists and personal trainers. Calorie counters, Atkins lovers, Weight Watchers and, of course, vegetarians are just a small sample of the people with leaf love.

The more I learn about nutrition, the more evidence I find that leafy greens are the easiest, cheapest and best way to eat healthy.

Putting this information into action was difficult at first. It was hard to ignore the mulchy compound that assaulted my tastebuds. But it was a small price to pay for a healthy heart, more efficient body function and even better metabolism. I’ve since added some of the top 10 leafy greens like kale, beet greens, different kinds of lettuce, arugula and spinach to my diet.

To top it all off, I got instant results. For years I had experienced the 2pm drag after a sandwich or fast food for lunch. After a salad with little or no meat and vinaigrette dressing, I was able to sustain energy throughout the afternoon. It did take a week or two to not be hungry again at 3pm, but by then I had learned to be prepared with a low calorie snack. Since I wasn’t so bogged down, I was less likely to be lazy and miss gym time or order out for dinner. On top of that, my body felt cleaner and I was in a better mood.

Now, I still hate lettuce, but my aversion to it is just something I’m going to have to get over. No pain, no gain, right?

One thought on “Day 10: I Hate Lettuce

  1. Pingback: Post 108: Half Dressed | Skinny 365

Leave a Reply

