Day 4: Working Out at Home

Going to the gym is my workout of choice, but when I forget my gym clothes at home or have a limited schedule or, in this case, if it’s a bad idea to drive, home is a cheap and easy alternative.

But what is home but a pile of distractions?Chances are you know or own exactly what you need to do to stay fit at your house. Yoga mat, Jillian Michaels dvds, P90X, weights, stability ball – got ’em! Even without those, there aren’t any excuses because you can download podcasts and find good workouts on the internet any time you want.

Then why, when I decide to work from home, it’s just not as intense? Home workouts are hard, and it’s not because of lack of equipment. It’s lack of self-discipline.

Comfortable furniture

Two weeks ago, Hubs and I bought a giant sectional. It’s the perfect piece for our living room, and it constantly calls my name! Resisting comfortable furniture, especially after a long day at work is one of the worst parts of working out at home. Unless I exercise in my kitchen or my bathroom, which would be weird, avoiding workouts in the same room as comfortable seating is impossible.

Family/Friends

My house isn’t teeming with people, but when I have a chance to be with Hubs or visiting friends, I want to take advantage of it. But locking myself in my room for Yoga Meltdown is something I should do anyway.

Sticking With It

The discipline to start the workout is only half the battle. Keeping with the workout is also difficult. There’s a lot to be said for having other people, even uninterested strangers, around to witness you quitting. They might not care, but I do!

Forgetting Must-Do Tasks

At the gym, exercising and listening to my high heart rate playlist is the only thing on my to do list. At home theres a pile of laundry that needs to be folded, a blog the needs to be written and dinner that needs to be cooked. Making exercise the priority is important.

When it comes down to it, it’s about making the right choices. Working out doesn’t take the place of chores, relaxing or the people in your life, but it feels that way sometimes. ¬†Taking the time and planning for both is essential, and a little self discipline can make it happen.

Leave a Reply

